Meet the Artist (11.12.12)

November 12, 2012

Meet the Artist…

Meet the artist Drew

American Greetings introduces Drew King — Drew’s considerable talent as an artist has been recognized here as well as in galleries and museums throughout the country.  Here’s what he has to say…

When did you first realize you are an artist?

I’m still trying to convince myself that I am an artist.

What is your position at American Greetings and what is your background as an artist?

My position at American Greetings is Senior Creative Developer and I’ve been here for 11 years already.  I studied painting and drawing at the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts in Philadelphia . I also did graduate study in film animation at the California Institute of the Arts. My student film won a Student Academy Award from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Over the years I have developed a body of work which includes paper cut-outs, cut paper sculpture, print making, and oil painting. My subject matter has been largely figurative.  Recently I have focused on larger scale, abstract oil paintings.  You can find some examples of my work at www.artbydrewking.com.

What is it that inspires you when creating a particular design or graphic piece?

Staying focused on what works with a particular concept inspires me.  I may start out by throwing anything that looks cool out there, but the end result needs to be tight.  Everything needs to work together.  I’m always reminding myself…”keep it simple”.

What’s your favorite piece/ecard ever created and why?

My favorite card that I created is called The Spirit of Christmas.  It has a lot of depth to it and has a cut paper look. I created all the imagery in the computer while being aware that I wanted a hand-crafted feel to the results.

Christmas Art

What famous artists or graphic designers have influenced you?

Saul Steinberg has always been at the top of my list of most inspiring artists.  His work has a universal appeal.  The graphic nature and the ideas behind his work are witty and humorous.  On an extreme opposite approach to art is my favorite painter Anselm Kieffer.  His work is emotive, drawing on works of expressionism.  There is something a little haunting about his work.

What inspires you to create your designs and how do you stay motivated?

I am inspired by new ideas I see happening in art.  I’m always looking at animation on the internet.  Some of the new capabilities being developed for “After Effects” and how artists utilize them is always evolving.  I try to do something that’s at least a little different than what I have seen before.

Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

Tired.

What advice would you give to an artist just starting out?

I think the important thing about developing as an artist is to find something good in what you do. Even if it’s just a small element about your work, there’s always something to build on.

 What do you do for fun?

I love to travel and to see new places.   Even if it’s just a small town not too far away. I like to go biking especially now when the leaves are turning.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

